On personal responsibility….

I have recently been contemplating the strong reactions I notice around food consumption and health….so many people are genuinely offended when they hear the idea of taking charge of and improving their health by changing what they eat….I would think this is something people would welcome, rather than reject or disparage, particularly if they have health  problems ….I find the opposite to be true…. i think the reason for this reaction comes down to personal responsibility….if a person keeps doing as their doctor tells them, and things go poorly, there is no personal responsibility – it is their doctors’ fault, or it is it’s how things are – nothing can be done about it….if one makes the choice to attempt to improve their health, and it doesn’t work, they may be seen as having failed – and I think humans want to avoid that at almost any cost…. what if, though, we can begin to think, not – what if I fail – rather, what if I succeed!!!….and I think we are actually more afraid of success than failure….I think we believe if we succeed once, we will lose face if we ever fail at anything in the future….better to not succeed to begin with…. when I began to change my eating habits, I honestly was so sick I had no idea that it would help….I only knew everything I had done to date had failed, as my ever-declining  health testified loud and clear….I told the mds thank you for your help and no thank you anymore, I have to see if something else will help… for three months I went through the new motions I learned, really not knowing why I was doing so…there obviously had to be a desire on some level to survive, though I was not consciously in touch with it… at the end of three months I saw evidence of the changes working – I had gained five pounds!… This was miraculous as I had lost over 100 pounds in just a short time – less than eight months – without restricting food!..my struggle had always been to keep weight off – and I learned struggling to keep weight on can be worse….I still fully relate to both sides of the coin…. so, the 5 pound victory, I see now, was a victory, as I had made the changes and stuck with them….as I continued with the changes  had made, I became more in tune with and aware of my body and how it felt when I put something in, and eventually on, my body….as time went on, I continued to attain a healthy weight and freedom from all the diagnoses the medical community had given me….i realized I prefer the power of personal responsibility in my life over feeling powerless over situations I had been taught to believe things must be accepted because the were just that way….and this success came to me even when I didn’t believe it would!…I only knew the old way wasn’t working!…. there are areas of my life I can still apply this to today – and I remind myself to do just that – and in the future, with everything that seems to not be working….I just need to take the personal resbonsibity for making a change – any change….in that way I can truly be the captain of my ship….. won’t you join me as the captain of yours?…..